Sunday, May 15, 2011

Turn System Restore off or on Windows XP in pictures

SHARE

Turn System Restore off or on Windows XP

System Restore is a utility included in modern Windows operating systems starting from Windows Millennium edition. Installation of a software, driver or a Malware infection can make unexpected changes to the system files and cause Windows to behave in an unpredictable manner. System Restore regularly saves “restore points” on your computer, so that the system files can be restored to an earlier point in time. System Restore is not available for a disk that’s formatted using the FAT or FAT32 file systems.
System Restore saves information about Windows system files, programs, registry settings and other system information that Windows uses. They do not contain personal files, such as email, documents or photos.



Location of System Restore files

The System Restore files are generally stored in a hidden and protected folder named _RESTORE folder in Windows Millennium and System Volume Information in later operating systems. It is located in the root directory of your hard disk. This folder is marked by the system as read only and hidden. It can be viewed only after making a few configuration changes from an Administrator account.

Why disable System Restore?

System Restore backs up the bad with the good, hence as a part of malware cleaning it is advised to turn off and on System Restore to eliminate the presence of malware infected files in the System Restore points.
IMPORTANT: Remember to turn off and on System Restore only after disinfecting your computer, because an infected restore point is better than no restore point.


Press Windows Key and the Pause key on your keyboard together to open System Properties.
or
Right-click My Computer (either on the start menu or the desktop), Select Properties.



In the System Properties dialog box, click the System Restore tab.


Click to select the Turn off System Restore check box. Or, click to select the Turn off System Restore on all drives check box. Click OK.



When you receive the following message, click Yes to confirm that you want to turn off System Restore:

You have chosen to turn off System Restore. If you continue, all existing restore points will be deleted, and you will not be able to track or undo changes to your computer. Do you want to turn off System Restore?

After a few moments, the System Properties dialog box closes.
To turn on System Restore
Click to clear the Turn off System Restore check box. Or, click the Turn off System Restore on all drives check box.
Click OK.
After a few moments, the System Properties dialog box closes.

Turn System Restore off or on Windows XP

SHARE

Author: verified_user

2 comments:

priya said...

Excellent post. I want to thank you for this informative read, I really appreciate sharing this great post. Keep up your work.

System Restoration

Anonymous said...

Hаving гeаd this I thοught іt was ratheг infоrmatiѵе.
I aрpreciate yοu taκіng the time and energу to put thіѕ short artiсlе
togеther. I oncе agаin find myself ρеrsonallу sρenԁing
wаy too much timе both reading anԁ leaving commеntѕ.
But ѕo whаt, it ωаs still wоrthwhile!
Stop by my web blog :: Antivirus software Download